Are Electric Scooters Legal in North Carolina?
Under existing NC law, electric scooters fall under the definition of “moped,” which includes heavier vehicles that can travel up to 30 mph. Moped riders must be at least 16 years old and must wear a helmet meeting the FMVSS 218 (motorcycle) standard. Operators must have a valid North Carolina driver license or identification card. Vehicle must be registered with North Carolina DMV. Electric scooters are considered motor vehicles.