Are Electric Scooters Legal in Ohio?
In Ohio, the minimum age to operate an electric scooter is 16 years old and above. Scooters do not need state registration, insurance, or other requirements for vehicles. Electric scooters cannot go over 15 mph (24 km/h) but are usable anywhere. Riders are to yield to pedestrians at all times and provide an audible signal. They need to abide by local traffic laws and should only park in areas that don’t impede traffic. Scooters are not considered motor vehicles. There are no statewide helmet or license requirements.